Queer with a Capital Q! Part I

The pushing of normative values

on a Queer with a Capital Q!

Causes them to shrink

to be small

to think

I shouldn’t be here

Taking up space

in your normative world

 

Taking up space

in your normative world

is dangerous

unsafe

my creative expressions

cause you to hate

So I hid

in my lair and…

 

I don’t align with systems

I see past your rigid thinking

I do not understand:

Facebook

Target

Talking about the weather

I dye my hair purple

And you say it’s a midlife crisis

(normative ageist bullshit)

In reality it’s a vibrant burst of

Here I am!

Refusing to be what you want me to be

Refusing to stuff myself into a box

of hetero

of homo (oh yes, look in the mirror)

normativity

 

I’m a Queer with a Capital Q!

I don’t do anything on your timeline

I do it on mine

Which sometimes follows a calendar

but mostly not

I do not subscribe to the path of the white man

laid out for us so sweetly by

our founding oppressors

They may have succeeded in taming you

but they won’t get to me

Queer with a Capital Q!

I keep moving (shhhh)

and I have no need to own a house

or make car payments

or ignore genocide, racism, and white supremacy

Lucidity keeps me from

drinking the Koolaid

 

So though I shrank in your presence

And hid in my lair

I’m coming out (again) now

With fucking amazing purple hair

To claim the non-normative

To take up space

To play the song of Capital Q!

If enough of us stand

and scream

and dance

and trailblaze our own paths

At least we will see

other Qs

as we swim upstream and

try not to drown

I will head nod to you

You will head nod to me

And onward we’ll go

Fuck normativity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

