Apparently I’m Writing in Poetry Now

“The body, and what we do with it, has ramifications for both the person and those with whom their life is performed…the body is a surface on which the social is inscribed” –David Alderidge, “The Body, Its Politics, Posture, and Poetics”

 

My body is a surface on which the social is inscribed

On my body are written the words of you

 

When Mind cannot comprehend

control

pain

It turns away towards a screen of

pretend-it’s-ok

 

But Body moves towards

What Mind cannot hold

And inscribes relationship on skin

And bone

In blood

And breath

 

As I dance through my day

Eyes fixed on the shadows of

Plato’s cave

Body quietly begs to differ

 

The suffragettes chained themselves

to railings

Monks burning in protest

And I, refusing food,

Somatic graffiti, a message

that something

is horribly wrong

 

My brain is not “fucked up”

I am not unstable

My body is a beautiful rendering

of the human form

And though I do not speak

much

in verbal words

My body speaks

Loudly

Clearly

Something

is horribly wrong

 

When I stopped listening

to you

And started listening

to Body

I heard a political protest

A rally of thousands

crying “revolution!”

Body will starve itself out of

this political prison

Until you (and I)

start paying attention

 

There is wisdom in the body

Even if we want to call it

Pathology

The body moves towards

What the mind cannot hold

And speaks to us in the only

language it knows

Inscribes relationship on skin

And bone

In blood

And breath

 

My body is a surface on which the social is inscribed

On my body are written the words…

One thought on “Apparently I’m Writing in Poetry Now

  1. You have a gift with words! ❤

    On Mon, May 23, 2016 at 12:44 PM, Queer Asterisk wrote:

    > queerasterisk posted: ““The body, and what we do with it, has > ramifications for both the person and those with whom their life is > performed…the body is a surface on which the social is inscribed” –David > Alderidge, “The Body, Its Politics, Posture, and Poetics” My body is a s” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

